Giant pancake filled with raspberry…

2 Dec

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

OK…so given this is a healthy (uhm…healthy mostly, sometimes healthier) blog, maybe saying “a giant pancake filled with raspberry!” is a little misleading. But if I said what it was a lot of people would go “eeew no, I’m not clicking there.” Yes I’m manipulative. No, I’m not sorry because what I made was delicious, healthy, and definitely worth trying. PS: I’ll totally keep doing this too you dear reader. It’s for your own good, and mine as well. I want you to read, you want good food. Hopefully if you’re here you want healthy good food, or at least some ideas to tweak. Enough babble (babbling is one of my skillz. Again, not sorry. I’d be apologizing a lot if I had to be sorry for rambling and babble.  And you’d be waaaaay less amused!)  Drum roll….this morning….I made…Wheat Germ Pancakes filled with Raspberry Cottage Cheese. Ok, now that I’ve typed it it doesn’t sound nearly as bad.

Jamie Eason (you can and should find her on both Bodybuilding.com and Facebook) is an incredible role model for fitness and healthy eating and a  major inspiration of mine.  She had posted the original recipe for these.  Look up her other recipes too…they’re awesome!!  I took use the  recipe as a base and I add to it and play with it.

The base of the recipe is as follows:

1/2 liquid egg whites
1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
2 tbsp wheat germ

Mix all the above together and cook like a pancake over just above medium heat. The first time, I had no idea how big of a pancake this would make. It’s dinner plate-sized, so prepare a large frying pan with cooking spray. A tiny one won’t flip. After you’ve poured the pancake into the pan, wait until it looks nearly dry. I promise you that unlike a pancake, it’s not burning. The wheat germ is more dense than the liquids, and sinks to the frying pan surface and comes out almost like crispy, egg-y pastry before it rests. It’s golden and pretty…check it if you don’t believe me.  Then flip (again…big spatula and make sure it’s really ready to flip or you’re going to end up spilling liquids all over), cook finished, and flip it golden side down onto a dinner plate.

The filling:

1/2 cup cottage cheese (I use whichever fat free brand has the least sodium…cottage cheese can suprise you with the salt. I’ve also used 2% milk-low sodium. Jamie’s recipe calls for lactose free, which I can never find)
Salt and pepper (maybe common sense maybe not…please skip the pepper if you add fruit.  Pinch of salt..OK, maybe.  But in the land of sweet things, pepper works better with chocolate than fruit.  Think I’ve just planned another post…)

Here’s where I play. This morning I took my “pancake” recipe and when I put it in the pan, I sprinkled it generously with cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg.   Yes, you can totally whisk all that good stuff in, but it was an afterthought for me.  Then I took my cottage cheese, added one packet of Stevia in the Raw (or any Stevia..but I have to tell you I’m a Stevia in the Raw only girl.  Here’s why: the others like Truvia or generic Truvia have Erythritol, which is a sugar alcohol like malitol or sorbitol, added. Actually as the first ingredient. Learning opportunity: Stevia itself is about a blagillion times more concentrated than sugar. They have to add a bulking agent or you’d be using a teeny fairy-sized spoon to dish this stuff out. So to Truvia they add 3 grams of Erythritol. To Stevia in the Raw it’s dextrose. This isn’t supposed to be a problem, but Truvia landed me in the bathroom for hours and had me walking around like I was dying whenever I used it for anything larger than a cup of tea.  Actually, I’m still bloated from double checking that it was indeed the source of my distress.  Stevia in the Raw…no problem. You do the math, but Erythritol is the only difference.) and a small handful of fresh raspberries. I mashed it all together with my little silicone spatula eh voila…pink pretty cottage cheese. In the middle of the cinnamon-y pancake, it was delicious.

I’ve also added the cinnamon straight to the cottage cheese, along with unsweetened apple sauce. A packet of Stevia put into the pancake is also yummy.

Seriously, there’s a million ways to do this (I’m picturing tiny bowls of multicolored pastel cream cheese…purple, pink, yellow, green,  more pink…OK, I like pink things). And Jamie Eason’s recipe starts at 198 calories, 32 grams of protein, 2 grams of fat, 13 grams of carbs. This changes a little with added fruits, but it’s minimal and with Stevia instead of sugar you may add 1 gram of carbs, but no sugars.

Other options: Honey and almonds, roasted veggies folded into the cheese, any fruit, a maple syrup drizzle…the list goes on. Be creative.

I’m going to experiment with making a gluten-free version of this soon. I have a baby sister with Celiac’s, so another challenge is coming up with things for her.  A lot of pre-packaged gluten free items are devoid of nutrients and heavy on carbs/low on fiber.   I’m thinking that 2 tablespoons of oatmeal or oat flour might work. Or ground flax. Or almond meal. Or some combination of all of the above! Suggestions welcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

