Hot Cocoa, guilt-free

12 Dec

So I woke up this morning (yaaaay!  Seriously, I live in baby steps.  Waking up=step one) and made my little boy breakfast, including hot chocolate.  Now…as previously mentioned my son is not an eater.  I spend a lot of time in this house making two very different meals.  I eat mostly clean, and try to keep my meals very high protein, low sugar, low carb, low fat.  For mini-me, I’m loading him up with whatever I can get in there.  His hot chocolate is real milk, Ovaltine, a packet of hot cocoa, and this stuff called Duocal that adds calories and fat without altering taste.  That way when my little one only eats a bite of a poptart and proclaims himself full and puts his jaw on lock down, at least I know he drank his hot chocolate and got a few hundred calories and good fat.  Luke has ADHD and after years of trying to avoid stimulant meds, is just one of those kids who legitimately needs them.  I know, I’ve heard all the opinions on this, I HAVE opinions on this, but we’ve tried E V E R Y T H I N G (I would define our version everything, but it’d take up even more room here)  and then tried Concerta.  I got a call from his teacher saying he was so different that she was a little frightened.  He feels great, he’s doing great, he has zero appetite.  Rarararararar.  I could start another blog called “I Wish My Son Would Eat Cake.”  I giggle sometimes at the suggestions people give me.  I know they’re with love, but for example last week a family member suggested I put sweet potato baby food in his macaroni and cheese.  Well…the issue isn’t veggies.  He’ll eat carrots and celery like a champ.  Super!  But I can still see his ribs and sternal notch because three bites in he’s full.  Macaroni and cheese takes hours.  I WISH we were at the “sneak stuff into his food” stage.  I’m great at that.  Sadly we’re still at “how much fat and calories can I cram in here so he doesn’t lose another half pound,” stage.   He won’t eat cupcakes.  He won’t eat a pancake.  He won’t eat french fries.  He might have one M&M.  And if you threaten him with starvation he’s all “Yessss….I’m great at this game!”

Aaaanyway…I took one smell of Luke’s hot chocolate and that was it…it became a “gotta have it,” morning.  Sometimes all this healthy stuff does feel like deprivation.  It’s why I cook like I do.  I like variety.  I like flavor.  I enjoy the heck out of food.  So what did I do?  Took my son to school (he had to drink the hot chocolate in the car because finishing it at home was going to take all morning) and went home to make my own.  Here’s what I came up with:

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

1 tablespoon cocoa powder (I like dark chocolate….a lot.  This makes it very “Hershey’s Special Dark,” kinda dark.  You could cut it down for a lighter cocoa taste.)

2 packets stevia in the raw

1 tsp vanilla extract

A dash of cinnamon (totally optional, but really  yummy)

1/2 scoop chocolate whey protein powder (I use Jay Robb…it tastes the best to me and at 110 calories and 25 grams of protein a scoop, sweetened with stevia  it just makes sense to me)

I put all the above in my blender to make sure I got all the protein powder chunks out and it was smooth.  Then I poured a cup of boiling water over the whole mix.  Is it Swiss Miss?  No.  Did it totally satisfy my craving without making me feel horrible and setting me back?  Absolutely!  And it’s way better than just a scoop of heated up protein powder and water.  I drank the whole thing, but you could have two 1 cup servings and divide the nutrition facts below in half.

105 calories, 0 grams sugar, 3 grams fat, 13.5 grams protein, 4 grams of carbs, 2 grams fiber.  48% of your daily value of calcium, 50% of your daily values of vitamins E and b12, 25% of your daily value of vitamin D.

Leave a Reply

