Carrot Cake Protein Bars

13 Dec

Given that this was the inspiration for my blog originally, this just had to be posted.  It’s such an amazing and versatile recipe, and you will not believe how amazing it tastes.  I couldn’t wait to make this for AB, and he raved about it 🙂  Except I should make it double, ’cause this one also serves a purpose:  It can be dessert, or serve it’s original purpose which is protein bar.  And a darn good one too!  You’ll feel like you’re cheating, but trust me you’re not.

Carrot Cake Protein Bars (thank you Jamie Eason!)

1 cup oat flour (Oatmeal put in a blender til fine…then measure out one cup)
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 scoops vanilla protein powder
1/4 tsp salt
2 tsp cinnamon (I use a little more…I like cinnamon)
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/8 tsp allspice
20 Stevia in the raw packets
2- 4 oz containers of carrot baby food
3 egg whites

1/2 cup low fat low sodium cottage cheese or ricotta

Optional:

1/2 cup quick cooking oats

Sprinkle of chopped walnuts

2 dates chopped, sprinkled on top

1 or 2 shredded carrots, folded in

Drizzle honey

I used all the above options when serving this as a dessert as opposed to a bar.  I add shredded carrots no matter what.  Seriously yum.

Preheat oven to 350.  Spray 8×8 pyrex glass baking dish with non stick cooking spray. Bake for 30 mins. Cut into 16 pieces. Serving size=2 squares. 94 calories (132 cal with oats folded in), 1.25 g fat (2 g fat with oats folded in), 10 g carbs (17 g carbs with oats folded in), 10 g protein (11 g protein with oats folded in)

You can add more protein or egg with discretion…more egg makes it gummy. I haven’t tried more protein powder, but I’d imagine an extra 1/2 scoop wouldn’t alter it in any way.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It looks and tastes like cake. It’s miraculous. It’s amazing. And the dates and walnuts add a teeny bit of crunch and richness but with an equally tiny bit of added guilt. Shredded carrot is strictly for show…but it’s a darn carrot. If you’re gonna eat carrot cake…there should be carrot shreds.  I put up a pic of when I made it in a round cake pan, and added a little cream cheese icing (neufchatel cheese, 8 packets stevia, 1 table spoon powdered sugar, a little light smart balance…I didn’t measure here, I just blended until it tasted good and then spooned it over top.) , and split a sugar cookie my son sent AB that night and used it as a garnish.  It looks like a beautiful, not so healthy dessert.  Not so!  I’m going to make this for holiday dinners from now on 🙂  Oh, and AB agrees this one is just out of this world.  Love it when he’s that happy about a recipe 🙂
Leave a Reply

