Protein Waffles (Mine Look Like Mickey Mouse…)

13 Dec

Sooo…I had a boyfriend a few years ago who didn’t like to eat.  Or rather forgot to eat because, like the rest of us, he was super busy and trying to do a million things at once.  He was the inspiration for this recipe, as I was trying to make something he could grab quick for breakfast, heat up, and get a good meal out of without much thought.  The result?  A protein waffle.  I haven’t tried these as pancakes, but they’d work just fine that way.

Waffle!

Mickey waffle…

1 cup oat flour, plus 4 tablespoons wheat germ (or just more oat flour.  I just like the little bit of crisp and texture the wheat germ adds).

1 cup liquid egg whites

1/2 cup fat-free or 2% cottage cheese (I actually opted for 2% here…less sodium, more carb, more protein when I crazy-lady’d the labels)

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

3 scoops protein powder (I think any flavor would work, but I did vanilla)

1/2 c. unsweetened almond milk

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp reduced sodium salt (it’s what I had…regular is fine!)

2 packets stevia

Options: cinnamon, blueberries, whatever…be creative!  Cinnamon was delish though.

Mix it all up til smooth and pour into heated waffle iron or on a hot skillet.  Be sure to use cooking spray before and between batches, as there is no fat in here and they will definitely stick (I annihilated a Mickey face and had to scrape him out of the waffle iron because I forgot on one round…).  When I made them, I dunked them in unsweetened apple sauce.  Mini-me even ate half of one of these, which is miraculous.  I tried reheating one this morning, and spread it with just a tiny bit of sunflowerbutter (peanutbutter and I are frenemies…I love it, my stomach disagrees) and sprinkle on a Stevia in the raw packet…it was great.  Reheating was no problem at all!  I also got about 10 waffles out of this, so that was happy too 🙂

My breakfast

Breakfast-waffle, sunbutter, veggie sausage, raspberries.

Leave a Reply

